Facebook privacy hoax goes viral AGAIN – make sure you don’t fall for it

0

A Facebook privacy hoax has gone viral again and people are still freaking out about it.

Contrary to what might have popped up in your News Feed, Facebook isn’t about share all your private photos, videos and messages with the public or start charging you for using the service.

The latest hoax is one of a long line of similar official looking posts that are quickly shared over  Facebook by concerned users.

This week, a new version has been widely shared and is quickly spreading throughout the social network.

The post claims that Facebook is about to make all your content, posts, videos and photos, public from tomorrow. And this includes any status updates or photos you may have deleted.

The post also claims that the only way to prevent this from happening is to copy and paste the text from the post and and share it on your timeline.

Here is the post in full:

“Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you’ve ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook’s privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste.”

Needless to say, the post is not true.

According to its terms, simply by using Facebook you agree that it can use your content in anyway it sees fit, which is actually fairly standard for any website you upload content to.

With that being said, Facebook still doesn’t own the copyright to your content and the tech giant does state that usage is “subject to your privacy and application settings”, although it has the right to amend that at any time.

Facebook hasn’t responded to this latest hoax but in the past has recommended users familiarise themselves with the privacy settings available on the website.

And if you see this or another Facebook privacy hoax being posted by one of your friends, do us all a favour and do not repost it!

Share.

Comments are closed.