iPhone users targeted in new Netflix phishing scam

0

If you receive an email about purchases you are meant to have made from the App Store, iTunes or Netflix, it could be a scam.

The email will also include a link to manage or cancel your Netflix or iTunes account although clicking on the linking will lead to users divulging personal data to a fake website, reported This is Money.

This is not the first time that that criminals have tried to trick iPhone users with a fake iTunes invoices. Only last November ‘Apple’ users sent emails claiming that they had spent purchased a TomTom sat nav app.

A similar phishing scam was used then whereby users were asked to click on a link to a fake cancellation form that again gathered personal data.

The same thing happened earlier this year when customers were told that they owed money for purchasing music from iTunes.

It’s worth remembering that Apple will never ask you for these details and state on their website: “The iTunes Store will never ask you to provide personal information or sensitive account information (such as passwords or credit card numbers) via email.

“Email messages that contain attachments or links to non-Apple websites are from sources other than Apple, although they may appear to be from the iTunes Store.

“Most often, these attachments are malicious and should not be opened.

“You should never enter your Apple account information on any non-Apple website.”

Share.

Comments are closed.