This secret tip is a must for all Gmail users – never mistakenly send an email again

0

Let’s face it, we have all sent an email in error before and been struck down by panic as we realise there is nothing we can do.

Luckily, the guys at Google released an “undo send” option for Gmail towards the end of last year.

So how does it work?

The first thing that you need to do is enable the Google Undo feature which is available to all users who access email via the web. Simply log into your account and click on the cog that is located underneath your profile image.

Now select: Settings > Enable Undo Send (you need to check the box next to this). From here you can alter the cancellation period from between 5 and 30 seconds.

All this sounds great doesn’t it? However, there are a couple of catches….

Firstly, if you haven’t enable the feature, then the email can’t be retrieved.

Secondly, if you have written manuscript that includes large attachments, you probably can’t retrieve it, even if you have enable “undo”. The reason is, it only works for a maximum of 30 seconds and the chances are a long email will take longer than that to send.

Of course, most emails these days are fairly short so you can just correct a typo or worse, you have sent it to the wrong person, fairly easily.

Once you have hit send, a yellow box will pop up at the top of the screen which reads: “Your message has been sent. Undo View message”.

Just remember, once the box disappears, that’s it – your message has been sent and there

Share.

Comments are closed.