New online tool reveals the terrifying amount of information you are sharing with Facebook

0

If you spend a lot of time on Facebook, you could be revealing a lot more about yourself than you realise.

It’s no secret that much of what you share on the social network is then used by companies for advertising purposes.

It can even be used by fraudsters to steal your identity by using a technique known as social engineering.

But now a new tool developed by a company based in Manchester, UK, called Supremo.tv can help you see exactly how much information Facebook knows and shares about you.

Much of this information is shared without your knowledge and can include things like your location, phone number, email address, date of birth and access to your post and any photos or videos shared on the site.

Ian Cox of Supremo.tv said: “If you’ve ever pressed ‘Login with Facebook’ on a website, you’re giving Facebook permission to share sensitive data with the site you are visiting.

“This includes, for example, your personal email address, whereabouts you live, where you work, details about your relationship, places you have recently been and who you’re friends with,” he said in statement.

“In today’s digital age, people are sharing just about everything on social media sites like Facebook. But most are unaware of just how much can be seen by brands, businesses and, in some cases, criminals.”

Once you login to the Supremo website it gives you a handy read out on some of the information Facebook knows about you.

It can even pick out an old photo and tell you how many likes it received.

“The best way to stay protected online is to only share what you would be happy with the whole world seeing,” Mr Cox said.

“As tempting as it may be to rejoice about the fact that the whole family is going on a weekend away, keep in mind that you may be inadvertently letting criminals know that your house is empty during this time.”

Supremo says it doesn’t store any of the data it displays and deletes it after you leave the site.
“After you close this window all of the information we’ve gathered will be completely removed from our records but there are more malicious uses of your personal information potentially,” the company says.

Share.

Comments are closed.