Facebook blames ‘bug’ for secretly saving your deleted videos

0

Facebook is back in the spotlight once again for privacy issues related to videos, if you thought things couldn’t get any worse for the Social Media giant, then think again!

A recent report by New York Magazine has revealed that videos users thought were deleted actually weren’t deleted at all.

The report went on to say one user had taken the opportunity to download their personal archive from Facebook and were surprised to see several videos remaining that had been initially deleted several years earlier. The magazine said the issue came to light in “pre–Facebook Live era” recordings.

The report further explained, “Facebook had a feature that let users film videos via webcam on Facebook itself… Once you were done filming, Facebook would show you a preview of your clip.”

“If you decided to do another take, you could click to discard that video and try it again. Except, the video wasn’t actually deleted. Instead, Facebook apparently saved your unused clip.”

Facebook has blamed “a bug” for failing to permanently delete user videos.

A Facebook spokesperson stated “We investigated a report that some people were seeing their old draft videos when they accessed their information from our Download Your Information tool,”

“We discovered a bug that prevented draft videos from being deleted. We are deleting them and apologize for the inconvenience.”

Facebook did state that the “deleted” videos were never shared to the public, however, they failed to mention if any of the undeleted videos had been used to gather information for targeted advertising or third party data sharing.

It’s been a torrid couple of months for Facebook as this is the third instance of a breach of privacy following on from the Cambridge Analytica scandal and the more recent report saying Facebook collected call and text information from Android phone users over a number of years.

Share.

Comments are closed.