New Facebook hoax is scaring people into thinking they are being stalked

0

If you have been on Facebook over the past couple of days you may have already seen the latest hoax that is fooling users on the popular social network.

This latest Facebook hoax claims there is a secret group of people stalking your profile and following your every move.

The hoax tells people to go to the section in account settings where you can view who you have blocked from viewing your profile.

The hoax then claims that once in the ‘blocked’ section, if you type ‘following me’ a list will be displayed of all the people spying on your profile.

However, it is just an old ruse designed to scare people.

But that hasn’t stopped the rumour from spreading quickly and some users are definitely worried.

One user wrote: “I Just learned something new. If you go to account settings, blocking, block users, and type in “following me”, without the quotes, you might be surprised just who is following you. I had a lot people on it that I had no clue who they were. They are blocked now. I had to block them one at a time. Creepy..most were middle eastern. And all my posts are to friends, not public.”

The hoax has done the rounds several times before so it is unclear why it has just surfaced again.

If you type anything in the search bar it will bring up all pages containing those words.

The list that appears is one that includes people who have “following” and “me” on their profile name.

“Why Facebook would implement a feature that would allow users to see their paid stalkers or “covert followers” seems oddly counter-productive, yet this logical flaw hasn’t seemed to stop these rumours from going viral, regularly,” staff at ThatsNonsense.com commented, a site dedicated to “exploring internet nonsense”.

Fact checking site Snopes also found a similar hoax which claimed that users could block people secretly following their account.

This hoax claimed that by typing “Facebook Security” into Facebook’s “block users” field would reveal a list of people who monitor your account. However, the claims were also found to be rubbish.

Share.

Comments are closed.