Facebook adds “Legacy Contact” for after you die

0

Facebook this week announced that it plans to add a new “Legacy Contact” feature that allows its users to nominate a special contact who then decides what to do with their Facebook page, profile, messages and much more when you kick the bucket. It also means that they can create a special memorial page for you, for others to visit and remember you by…

Facebook Legacy Contact

Basically when someone you know, you know, moves on to the next life, you must contact Facebook and let them know of this fact. Facebook then turns over control of the Facebook account to the Legacy Contact that’s already been nominated.

According to Facebook, that nominated individual will then be able to:

  • Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline (e.g., to announce a memorial service or share a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo

Facebook Legacy Contact

Thankfully, there’s still some inherent privacy – as the Legacy Contact will not be able to log in as you, and therefore won’t be able to view your private messages, according to Facebook. But they will be able to download your photos, if you give permission, as well as all your posts so they can be saved for eternity instead of disappearing into the ether.

Of course, it’s not absolutely necessary to choose a Legacy Contact, and in this case Facebook will just delete everything when you pass away – all those memories will be lost forever.

The whole idea seems like a fairly sensible thing to do, especially given the fact that Facebook has come under fire in recent times for failing to close down the deceased’s pages or allowing inappropriate comments. The only thing that we’re not sure about is what happens when your Legacy Contact dies, or if (heaven forbid) the two of you pop your clogs at the same time?

Are you planning to nominate a Legacy Contact? Is it a good idea, or are you happy to have the whole thing deleted?

Share.

Comments are closed.