A Google Chrome developer has explained that when using incognito mode, it is still possible to monitor what you are doing.
You may ask what’s the point? Well, it does stop Chrome from saving your browsing activities but others may still be able to see it, bad news for those using the facility to view NSFW content online.
It was Darin Fisher, a Chrome developer, who said that the company “agonised” over the name for the feature, deliberately avoiding calling it “privacy mode” which may have been misleading.
“When you launch the incognito tab there’s this disclaimer there where we really try to help make it really clear to people that your activity is certainly still visible to the websites you visit and could be visible to your employer, to your school, and to your [internet service provider]of course,” he told Thrillist.
Those who use the mode may well have noticed that a short message appears on the screen that gives a short explanation of how incognito works.
It says Chrome won’t save your browsing history, cookies and site data, and information entered in forms, when you’re in incognito mode.
However, Google adds that your activity “might still be visible to” websites you visit, “including the ads and resources used on those sites”; your employer, school, or whoever runs the network you’re using; and your internet service provider.
Google reiterates this on its incognito mode help pages, saying, “Your activity isn’t hidden from websites you visit, your employer or school, or your internet service provider.”
Mr Fisher is keen to point out that using incognito shouldn’t be used to hide something ‘dodgy’ but as a means of avoiding cookies and hiding activities such as purchasing presents for loved ones.