Facebook has introduced a new feature that will let you mute annoying friends for 30 days.
If you’re tired of seeing selfies, motivational quotes, photos of food, holiday snaps or anything other posts you find annoying, rather than unfriend someone, you can now mute them for a month without them knowing.
The new “Snooze’ feature differs from the existing option to Unfollow because it allows you to see your friends posts again after 30 days, without manual interaction.
You can mute a friend my selecting the menu option in the right hand corner of their latest post and hitting ‘Snooze’.
You then won’t see any of their posts for the next 30 days, and more importantly they won’t be notified that you put them on snooze.
You can also use the feature to mute specific groups.
Hoorah! See you in thirty days.
“Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone,” Facebook said in a post.
“With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time.
“The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified.
“You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.
Facebook says Snooze is the latest in a number of new features that will help give users more control of their News Feed.
“With features like Unfollow, Hide, Report and See First, we’ve consistently worked toward helping people tailor their News Feed experience, so the time they spend on Facebook is time well spent,” Facebook said.
“As News Feed evolves, we’ll continue to provide easy-to-use tools to give you the most personalized experience possible every time you visit Facebook.”