Facebook users have been sharing what looks like a legit privacy notice on their Facebook feeds over the past couple of days.
You will no doubt have seen it and may have even shared it yourself.
The notice warns users that Facebook is about to make all their private posts public and tells users the only way to prevent this happening is by copying and pasting the legal sounding jargon onto their Facebook timeline.
The post in full reads:
However, this is nothing more than a Facebook hoax and you shouldn’t waste your time sharing the post.
There is also similar post doing the rounds which claims that from tomorrow users will be invited to make a payment in order to connect to Facebook.
While another version claims that Facebook will start charging people ‘this summer’.
The source and the goal of all of these hoaxes are unknown. None of the posts contain any kind of malicious links which would be used to spread malware or ransomware.
Sometimes fake Facebook groups or pages are created to share posts of this nature in order to try and build up a large following or number of likes – the posts gets shared and in turn the more shares and likes, the greater the chances of increasing likes on a Facebook page or group.
Any post which asks you to ‘share if you agree’ or something along those lines is generally nothing more than a hoax.
However, this doesn’t seem to be the case with these latest hoaxes, which seem to do nothing more than waste the time of users who have fallen for the claims made in the post.
Similar hoaxes first surfaced in 2012 and if you are concerned about privacy on Facebook then you should familiarise yourself with the privacy settings on your account to ensure that strangers are unable to access any of your photos, posts or personal information you may have shared on your profile.
You can access your privacy settings by clicking on the Privacy Shortcuts option in the top right corner when you login to your Facebook account.
From here you can review who can see your posts, who can add you as a friend and if people can look you up via your email address.