Missent messages on Line can now be deleted within 24 hours, leaving only a record in the chat.
Line Corporation went live with the feature on Wednesday, with a statement saying: “Line believes that casual, day-to-day conversations are characterised by prompt messaging in real-time, and initially felt that an ‘unsend’ feature would take away from this user experience.
“However, as Line is also making efforts to enhance functionality to improve usability and expand users’ communication choices, Line chose to add this feature allowing users to delete missent messages so that they can have peace of mind and communicate even better.” To delete a message, users need to press and hold a sent message and choose “unsend” from the menu that appears.
Then, the selected message will be removed from the sender’s and recipient’s devices, and a notification will be shown in the chat room indicating that a message has been deleted.
Messages can only be deleted with the latest version of the Line app. The following message types, whether read or unread, can be deleted within 24 hours of being sent: text and voice messages, stickers, images, videos, URLs, Line Music links, contacts, location information, files and call history.
The feature supports both the mobile and desktop versions of Line and can be used in one-to-one chats, multiple-user chats and group chats.
However, smartphone OS notifications cannot be deleted.