If you planned on binging on Netflix this weekend (Stranger Things btw) but received an email saying your account had been disabled you are likely to have been a target of a new scam.
Netflix users round the world are being warned about a new phishing scam, designed to steal your bank or credit card details.
Users are being sent emails which look like they are from Netflix.
The emails are classic examples of a phishing attack given that they look like they have been sent from a legitimate source and encourage people to enter account details and other personal information.
However, the sites which the email directs users to are fake and any details entered into them are sent back to scammers who use them to try and gain access to your account.
The scam this round claims that Netflix accounts are being disabled and that users need to update their payment details to reactivate their accounts.
However, this isn’t true and is just a ploy by the scammers to try and obtain your bank or credit card details.
If you receive what you think may be a phishing email then you shouldn’t reply or click on any links.
On its official website, Netflix says it will never send an email to customers asking for payment or personal information.
Netflix also offers other advice on how to keep your account secure and how you can identify a phishing email.
“Phishers will go to great lengths to try to take over your account or steal your personal information. They may create fake websites that look like Netflix, or send emails that imitate us and ask you for personal information.”
“If you’re unsure about a link in an email, you can always hover your cursor over the link to see where it directs in which you can see the real linked web address at the bottom of most browsers,” Netflix says.
Any emails which you think are suspicious can be sent to [email protected]
The news comes just a week after 110 million Netflix users were the target of a similar phishing scam.