Newly discovered hack means people can still read your deleted WhatsApp messages

0

We all thought that WhatsApp had answered our problems when they introduced the option to unsend potentially embarrassing messages, however, it seems that they may have been too hasty.

Android Jefe recently revealed how to read messages after the sender thought they had been deleted.

The messages appears to be stored in Androids OS notification register which means that any user can find the message – so long as they have the patience to trawl through their Notification Log.

There is a caveat to reading unsent messages however, you need to have interacted with the sender first (opened their messages previously) and only 100 characters will appear.

Naturally, you must have notifications for WhatsApp enabled for this to work.

As most of us are aware, deleting something in the digital age doesn’t necessarily mean that it is deleted forever although this hack doesn’t appear to work for iPhone users.

So, how do you delete sent WhatsApp messages?

Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.

Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.

Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.

This feature also only works on the latest version of WhatsApp and is available to both Android and iOS devices.

Also, what many people may not know, is that the recipient also has to have the latest version installed for it to work correctly.

WhatsApp cautions that your friends may still read your message before it’s deleted. And, of course, they can always screengrab it before you’re able to banish it to the digital netherworld.

Via: Tech Republic

Share.

Comments are closed.