If you still have a MySpace account your should delete it IMMEDIATELY

0

People who still have a MySpace account are being urged to delete it immediately.

The warning comes after a cyber security expert discovered an issue with the site that could allow hackers to gain control of old accounts and steal private information.

The issue is so bad the expert branded it: “so flawed it deserves its own place in history”.

A decade ago MySpace was the social network of choice for most people but it was quickly overtaken by the likes of Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Today the site is long forgotten and while you probably haven’t logged onto MySpace in years, the chances are you may not have actually deleted your old account.

You probably don’t even remember your login details or even still use the email address linked to your MySpace account.

Of course, MySpace offers a tool which helps people who may have forgotten their login details to recover their account credentials.

But this is where the problem lies.

According to security researcher Leigh Anne Galloway anyone can gain access to an old MySpace account with just three pieces of information.

“Myspace only validates name, username and date of birth,” she said.

“The full name and the username of the account holder can be found from a simple google. Username is located in the profile url, and name is located on the profile page. Date of birth is probably the hardest of all three to obtain, but not impossible.”

While it is not advisable, lots of people still list their date of birth on their Facebook profile and the fear is that it wouldn’t take much for someone to use this information to access an old MySpace account.

If you used the same username, password and email address across other online accounts then hackers could potentially and very easily have access to a whole trove of personal information.

“This vulnerability allows anyone access to any Myspace account, with only three pieces of information,” Ms Galloway said.

“If there is a possibility that you still have account on Myspace, I recommend you delete your account immediately,” she added.

MySpace were alerted about the issue in April but according to Ms Galloway she only received an automated reply.

Commenting on the issue, a spokesperson for MySpace told The Next Web:

“In response to some recent concerns raised regarding Myspace user account reactivation, we have enhanced our process by adding an additional verification step to avoid improper access,”

“We take data security very seriously at Myspace. We plan to continue to refine and improve this process over time.”

Share.

Comments are closed.