Internet trolling is something that is unfortunately becoming more and more of a problem, with widespread calls for social media sites to take action about abusive posts or comments.
Twitter have listened to these calls and updated their block button – basically meaning that if you use the button you can no longer see each other’s tweets.
Prior to the latest update, if you blocked someone on Twitter their tweets could still retweeted by another user into your timeline.
The micro-blogging site is adding the total block tool to combat trolling and the move is seen a powerful step in restricting people from contacting you or seeing your tweets.
Twitter explained “When you block someone on Twitter, they cannot follow you or send direct messages. If they @ mention you, you will not see a notification.”
However, because Twitter is a public platform, if you search for a user through a search engine you will be able to see their account but if you block them they won’t be able to interact with you in any way.
In June, as part of an agreement with the European Union, some of the world’s biggest social media sites, including Twitter, Facebook and YouTube, signed up to a code of conduct in order to help combat hate speech “quickly and efficiently”.