Last year WhatsApp introduced a feature that allowed users to delete sent messages.
Now one year on the company wants to make a big change to the feature.
Still in testing mode, however, final tweaking of their Delete for Everyone feature is nearly upon us.
In November last year, the Facebook-owned messaging app introduced the ability to delete a sent message from an individual or group conversation.
Users after deleting will see the message replaced with a note stating: “This message was deleted”.
This feature was only available within the first seven minutes of the message being sent, after that time the message can only be removed on the user’s device leaving the sent message still viewable on the recipient’s device.
According to reports, WhatsApp is developing a bigger time extension to the feature, the new time limit will increase by a huge margin to 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds.
The group WABetaInfo that is responsible for tracking beta releases of the latest WhatsApp features noticed the new time change in the recent Android beta, meaning only WhatsApp beta testers on Android can take advantage of this new feature in the world’s most popular messenger.