A new update to WhatsApp now lets users delete sent messages for the first time.
The option to unsend messages has been added to the latest version of WhatsApp and is being rolled out to users on iOS and Android.
WhatsApp says the new feature will allow users to delete sent messages up to seven minutes after they have been sent, letting them delete hastily written on potentially embarrassing messages.
When a message has been deleted, users will see a message which reads “this message was deleted” in place of the original message.
“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone,” WhatsApp said in a blog post.
The option to unsend messages has long been rumoured after it was revealed that WhatsApp had been testing the feature in several beta versions of its mobile app.
In order to be able to delete sent messages, both you and the recipient have to be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
How to unsend messages on WhatsApp
- Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
- Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
- Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.